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In accordance with California Code of Regulations, Title 27, Article 5, §15250 and Article 6, §15290, 
at the end of every fiscal year, each Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA) shall submit to the 
Secretary for Environmental Protection (CalEPA) an annual summary of all single fee and surcharge 
amounts billed, waived, collected, remitted and still owed for the fiscal year.   
 
If the CUPA believes that the number of regulated businesses will change significantly for any 
program element in the current fiscal year or in the next fiscal  year, a cover letter addressing the 
estimated changes for each program element must also be submitted with the Annual Single Fee 
Summary Report, per California Code of Regulations, Title 27, Article6, §15290.  
 
The annual single fee summary report shall be submitted by September 30th to CalEPA though: 
 

U.S. Postal Service at: 

California Environmental Protection Agency 
Unified Program Section  
P.O. Box 2815 
Sacramento, California 95812-2815 

or Express mail at: 

California Environmental Protection Agency 
Unified Program Section 
1001 “I” Street 
Sacramento, California 95814 

  
The following information shall be completed as follows: 

 

CUPA: 
Enter the Certified Unified Program Agency submitting the Annual Single Fee 
Summary Report to CalEPA. 

Fiscal Year: 
Enter the fiscal year for which the Annual Single Fee Summary Report is being 
submitted. 

Date 
Submitted: 

Enter the date the Annual Single Fee Summary Report is being submitted to 
CalEPA.   

Completed By: 
Enter the name of the person completing the Annual Single Fee Summary Report. 

Telephone 
Number: 

Enter the telephone number of the person completing the Annual Single Fee 
Summary Report. 

Single Fee: 
Report the total single fee amount billed, waived, and collected from all regulated 
businesses.  The single fee includes the CUPA’s fees for necessary and 
reasonable costs to implement and enforce the Unified Program. 

Single Fee for 
Participating 

Agencies: 

Report the total single fee amount billed and collected on behalf of the 
Participating Agencies.  Report the total single fee amount remitted to and still 
owed to Participating Agencies, if any.  The single fee for Participating Agencies 
includes the Participating Agency’s fees for necessary and reasonable costs to 
implement and enforce one or more Unified Program elements.   

If a CUPA does not have any applicable single fee amounts to report regarding 
Participating Agencies, each field should be completed with “N/A.” 
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Program 
Element 

Surcharge: 
 

Enter the surcharge amount billed, waived, collected, remitted and/or still owed to 
CalEPA.   

The remitted amount for each program element surcharge on the annual single 
fee summary should equal the sum of all quarterly surcharge transmittals for the 
same program element for the fiscal year.   

Surcharge assessments for each program element are as follows: 

Program Element Surcharge* 

Fiscal Year 

CUPA  
Oversight 

Aboveground 
Petroleum 

Storage Act 
(APSA) 

Underground 
Storage Tank 

(UST) 

California Accidental 
Release Program 

(CalARP) 

For Each  
Regulated 

Business/Facility 
Location 

For Each 
Regulated  

Tank Facility 

For Each 
Regulated 

Tank 

For Each Regulated 
Stationary Source 

Location 

2011-12 $49.00 
**includes the Electronic 
Reporting surcharge 

‒ $15.00 $270.00 

2012-13 $35.00 ‒ $15.00 $270.00 

2013-14 $35.00 ‒ $15.00 $270.00 

2014-15 $35.00 $26.00 $15.00 $270.00 

* The surcharge transmittal should only reflect applicable program element surcharge amounts and 
should not reflect remittance of any assessed late fees or other charges. 

** Effective fiscal year 2009-2010, an Electronic Reporting surcharge was established to fund the 
California Environmental Reporting System (CERS).  The Electronic Reporting surcharge was 
$25.00 per year, for three years [HSC 25404(e)(3)].  CUPAs must assess and collect the Electronic 
Reporting surcharge from their regulated businesses for three complete billing cycles.  Once 
collected for three complete billing cycles, the Electronic Reporting surcharge is no longer 
applicable. 

CUPA 
Oversight: 

 
# of 

Regulated 
Businesses 

Enter the number of regulated businesses/facilities as defined in 
27 CCR § 15110(k).  If a regulated business/facility is no longer in 
business but was doing business in the fiscal year (even for a 
time as limited as one day), the business/facility should still be 
reported as a regulated business/facility. 

Aboveground 
Petroleum 

Storage Act 
(APSA): 

# of 
Regulated 

Tank 
Facilities  

Enter the number of regulated facilities as defined in Health and 
Safety Code chapter 6.67, § 25270.2 subject to the surcharge. 
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Underground 
Storage Tank 

(UST): 

# of 
Regulated 

UST Facilities 

Enter the number of regulated facilities as defined in Health and 
Safety Code chapter 6.67, § 25281 subject to the surcharge.  

# of 
Regulated 

USTs 

Enter the total number of USTs as defined in Health and Safety 
Code chapter 6.67, § 25281 at all regulated UST facilities.  A 
regulated UST facility may have more than one UST. 

California 
Accidental 

Release 
Program 

(CalARP): 

# of 
Regulated 
Stationary 

Source 
Facilities  

Enter the number of regulated businesses/facilities as defined in 
Health and Safety Code chapter 6.95, § 25500-25546.5. 

# of 
Regulated 
Stationary 

Sources 

Enter the number of stationary sources as defined in Health and 
Safety Code chapter 6.95, § 25500-25546.5. 

# of 
Stationary 

Sources 
Granted a 

RMP Waiver 
Determination 

Enter the number of regulated stationary sources granted a RMP 
Waiver Determination as defined in Health and Safety Code 
Chapter 6.95, § 25500-25546.5. 

Onsite 
Hazardous 

Waste 
Treatment 

Facilities 

Permit By 
Rule 

Enter the number of permit by rule, conditional authorization and 
conditional exemption facilities (not the number of on-site 
treatment units), as defined in Health and Safety Code chapter 
6.5, § 25100-25258.2.  Conditional exemption facilities include 
Conditionally Exempt Commercial Laundries (CECL), 
Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Treatment (CESQT) and 
Conditionally Exempt (CEL). 

Conditional 
Authorization 

Conditional 
Exemption 

Total: Enter the sum of all surcharge amounts for each program element. 

 
 
 
 

 
 


