Welcome to the State of California

Advisory Committee on Environmental Justice

CalEPA is undertaking an ambitious effort to integrate environmental justice into our policies, programs and regulations. In the next few years, we will explore concepts, identify gaps, and develop tools in moving forward on four specific priorities -- precautionary approaches, cumulative impacts, public participation, and community capacity building. In doing so, CalEPA will look to the members of our Advisory Committee on Environmental Justice (Advisory Committee) for recommendations based on their breadth of experience and perspective.

Pursuant to statute, the 17-member Advisory Committee includes the following representatives: 1 federally-recognized Tribe; 2 environmental justice organizations; 2 community organizations; 2 environmental organizations; 2 large business; 2 small business; 2 local/regional land use planning agencies; 2 air districts; and 2 Certified Unified Program Agencies or CUPAs.

CalEPA is soliciting applications for membership on the Environmental Justice Advisory Committee. A letter from the Secretary for Environmental Protection and application information are available (PDF, 72 KB). Applications must be received by fax or be postmarked no later than Oct. 4, 2007.

Federally Recognized Tribe

  • Lenore Volturno, Director of Environmental Services, Pala Band of Mission Indians

Environmental Justice Organizations

  • Henry Clark, Executive Director, West County Toxics Coalition
  • Diane Takvorian, Executive Director, Environmental Health Coalition

Community Organizations

  • Yuki Kidokoro, Acting Executive Director, Communities for a Better Environment
  • Hermila Treviño-Sauceda, Executive Director, Líderes Campesinas

Environmental Organizations

  • Joseph K. Lyou, Executive Director, California Environmental Rights Alliance
  • Teresa DeAnda, Central Valley Representative, Californians for Pesticide Reform

Large Business

  • David Arrieta, Owner/Principle Consultant, DNA Associates
  • Robert Harris, Vice-President Environmental Affairs, Pacific Gas & Electric

Small Business

  • Bruce Magnani, Legislative Advocate, California Chamber of Commerce
  • Brenda Jahns Southwick, Managing Counsel, California Farm Bureau Federation

Local/Regional Land Use Planning Agencies

  • Detrich Allen, General Manager, Department of Environmental Affairs, City of Los Angeles
  • Susan Georgino, Director, Department of Community Development, City of Burbank

Air Districts

  • Barbara Lee, Air Pollution Control Officer, Northern Sonoma County Air Pollution Control District
  • Barry Wallerstein, Executive Officer, South Coast Air Quality Management District

Certified Unified Program Agencies

  • Michael Dorsey, Chief, Hazardous Materials Division, Department of Environmental Health, San Diego County
  • William Jones, Chief, Health Hazardous Materials Division, Fire Department, Los Angeles County
Last updated: September 04, 2007
Environmental Justice Program, http://www.calepa.ca.gov/EnvJustice/
Contact, EnvJustice@calepa.ca.gov (916) 445-9480